A thousand daggers

Awake in my dreams
The burning flames on my skin
Falls rugs of flesh from my bones

My soul is a wooden bird
Hollow,
And never flies

Standing on a windowsill,
Watching the sky and it’s kites
The sun and her moon

With the stars forever far,
The sound of a winding clock
Came a shade of a dark cloud

A young sparrow she was
Onto my windowsill
With a melody of a dawning spring

That life felt complete
Just a moment to last
But a moment too short

Watching the last of her wings
Flapping into the yellow of a young sun
The last petal of a red rose

And I became lost of my heart
With a thousand daggers through its veins
Bleeding a love that never was

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

