I Did Dream Big

I did dream big

 

I did see the car and the house

A white Pontiac Bonneville

A single-family detached home for us

A loving wife with two children

In a framed photo on my desk

Working passionately at my own local newspaper

A successful writer I would be

With a full page in every print

Sharing the joy and pain of my townsmen

In every stroke of a pen on a paper

 

I did dream big

 

I did see the school and the church

Bright Mondays and beautiful Sundays

The best plain slacks and tie collar dresses

Gracefully marching into a town hall

With happy faces and warm smiles

For a town meeting I would chair

An upstanding town clerk I would be

With great dedication I would work

Serving with honor and love to my townsmen

In every wise way of leadership

 

I did dream big

 

I did see the park and the doves

Star Magnolia and red maples

Amazing Carolina Turtle doves

Fathers playing with sons

Mothers singing to their daughters

Dean Martin’s everybody loves somebody

A wonderful parent I would be

With all strength I would fight

Striving endlessly with advice and respect of my townsmen

In everyday living with my family

 

I did dream big

And I did see all

I did see happiness

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

